Hispanic Heritage

Hispanic Heritage Month is the period to recognize the contributions of Hispanic Americans to the United States & to celebrate Hispanic heritage & culture. The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week was approved by President Lyndon Johnson & was expanded through President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 & ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988 on the endorsement of Public Law 100-402. September 15 was elected as the starting point for the celebration because it is the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries:

Costa Rica, Guatemala,El Salvador, Honduras & Nicaragua. They all declared independence in 1821. In addition, Mexico, Chile & Belize celebrate their independence days on September 16, September 18 & September 21, respectively.